Lemminkäinen Suite (includes The Swan of Tuonela)
Jean Sibelius


Listen to this piece at composed.com now

Sibelius's fantastical suite falls 20 in the top 300

Written in the early 1890s, Sibelius' mythical suite was originally conceived as an opera, Veneen luominen. It's based on the legendary character Lemminkäinen, who travels to the island of the dead. Sibeliuss opulent string writing is a particular highlight in the second movement, The Swan of Tuonela — there are up to seventeen separate string parts, as well as a beautiful cor anglais solo.

Lemminkäinen's Mother by Akseli Gallen-Kallela (1897).