Adagio in E Major for violin and orchestra K261
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart


Listen to this piece at now

Mozart's gorgeous Adagio rises three places

In addition to his five complete violin concertos, Mozart composed a few separate movements. After playing the Concerto No. 5, Italian virtuoso Antonio Brunetti wasn't satisfied with the slow movement, and requested a replacement. And a good job he did too, as the beautiful Adagio in A major was born. Mozart didn't use the key of A major again until his Piano Concerto No. 12, written in 1782.

Musicians in the Orchestra by Edgar Degas (1872).